Preparation and Passion for a Future in Psychology

Mike Lomas 1Mike Lomas has recently completed a Master’s degree in Applied Psychology and is looking to move onto a Phd. He is also a qualified teacher of the subject, currently working at Bolton College, as well as doing some guest lecturing at the University of Salford, where he has also contributed to an ongoing research project in the area of emotional intelligence. His main area of focus is social psychology, but his role as a teacher means the scope of his reading stretches wider than this. You can follow Mike’s Blog and follow him on Twitter via  @MikeLomas_

Hi there and welcome to my blog, which is essentially all about my passion for the subject of psychology.

I have recently completed a Master’s degree in Applied Psychology and am looking to move onto a Phd. I am also a qualified teacher of the subject, currently working at Bolton College, as well as doing some guest lecturing at the University of Salford, where I have also been fortunate enough to contribute to an ongoing research project in the area of emotional intelligence. My main area of focus is social psychology and the various aspects of modern life that may impact us, particularly in terms of mental health. However, my role as a teacher means the scope of my reading stretches wider than this, so I may also venture into other areas of the subject.

From personal experiences to current goings on in the news, this blog will explore the psychology that underlies every aspect of our modern lives. The posts will take different forms; from short, opinion pieces, to more in depth articles based on my reading. In each instance, I am looking to put some of my thoughts out there, as well as to gather the opinions of others and get some form of discussion going. I’m always looking for fresh perspective on a topic, enabling me develop my own understanding, whilst trying to contribute to the field as best I can.

The blog will also serve as a  resource for my students, and I’ll often post material linked to their studies. Say, for example an interesting debate arose during class discussion, I’d look to bring some of their ideas on board, and get them to begin to think critically about the subject. Even if nobody takes interest and reads this, I feel it will benefit me personally, as it will allow me explore my own curiosity and develop my writing as I go. Albert Einstein once said; “I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.”, and it is this intellectual curiosity from which I gain motivation. I am simply awaiting inspiration, and for that spark of interest for which to apply it.

I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts,

Mike

Don't be shy, please leave a reply

sociyology

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

Creativity through collaboration

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

BlauBlog

Politics, philosophy, history . . . thinking, writing, teaching . . . the blog of Adrian Blau

Nick Hopwood

Education research, PhD study, academic publishing, research methods

socphd.wordpress.com/

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

Dr. Matt Donoghue

Politics and Society (and a bit of Economy) from a Critical Perspective

autohabitus

cars, environment, geography

Geography Directions

The latest journal content and related new stories from the RGS-IBG journals and Geography Compass.

letter from chiapas

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

Department of Sociological Studies Blog

Engaging and accessible sociology

Donna Peach

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

that space in between

exploring life and that gap where we sometimes find ourselves...

politics of the hap

a life worth living

Welcome to the AAA Blog

Conversations in Anthropology

dementiaphd

This WordPress.com site is the global hub for dementia students

dtbarron

dtbarron blog

Notes on a Theory...

Thoughts on politics, law, & social science

Caroline Magennis

Research, teaching and basket-weaving

