The Journey Ahead…….. by Emmanuel Mogaji

Emmanuel is a member of Centre for Advances in Marketing, Business and Management Research Institute at the University of Bedfordshire Business School, Luton. England. 

His research investigates the framework of print advertisements for consumer banking services in the UK in terms of visual communications (images) and appeals and understanding customer’s perceptions of visual communications. His research interest lies in visual consumption and communication of corporate designs.  You can follow Emmanuel via his twitter account @mogajigbenga and at https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Emmanuel_Mogaji/

The Journey Ahead…..

On my 27th birthday, I started a three year journey into the unknown. Some believe it is not possible but I hope to complete my research degree in this period. I don’t know what lies ahead but I know where I started from and the passion will keep me going.

After my Masters degree in Art and Design, I was fired up, well motivated and ready to explore the creative world. I wanted to know more about designs and I thought how about a PhD degree? But I wanted a different approach to my research. I am interested in marketing communications design and I would have loved to study in a business school.

I tried applying to some universities but seem there was no one to supervise my interest. It appeared there is no much interest in marketing communications in business schools compare to media/communications department or Art and Design so finding the right school was my first hurdle. I remember visiting Kingston University and Royal Holloway to discuss my idea with staffs but I was encouraged not to apply because there is no one to supervise me. I decided to get a job and explore the corporate world.

Two years later, I tried University of Bedfordshire in Luton, I submitted my research proposal and I got feedback to work on it so as to fit into the institute interest, I did and was fortunate to get a place in the Business and Management Research Institute of the Business School. An opportunity to explore my interest in marketing communication designs, with emphasis on print designs.

My research interests are marketing communications designs, appeals in advertisements and visual communications. My topic however is emotional appeals within UK Bank Adverts. Prof Jillian Farquhar is my Director of Studies while Barbara Czarnecka is my second supervisor

Using content analysis as my main method, I will be analysing adverts in Newspapers over three years to develop a conceptual framework for an effective bank advertisements taking into consideration the type of products (credit card, loan or mortgage), market age (Lloyds compared with Metro Bank) and the culture of UK.

Looking forward to opportunity to collaborate and share ideas relating to branding, marketing communications, advertisement and inter-cultural analysis. Three years is just down the road so please wish me well.

Don't be shy, please leave a reply

sociyology

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

Creativity through collaboration

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

BlauBlog

Politics, philosophy, history . . . thinking, writing, teaching . . . the blog of Adrian Blau

Nick Hopwood

Education research, PhD study, academic publishing, research methods

socphd.wordpress.com/

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

This Sociological Life

A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton

Dr. Matt Donoghue

Politics and Society (and a bit of Economy) from a Critical Perspective

autohabitus

cars, environment, geography

Geography Directions

The latest journal content and related new stories from the RGS-IBG journals and Geography Compass.

letter from chiapas

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

Department of Sociological Studies Blog

Engaging and accessible sociology

Donna Peach

Facilitating a narrative across the social sciences

that space in between

exploring life and that gap where we sometimes find ourselves...

politics of the hap

a life worth living

Welcome to the AAA Blog

Conversations in Anthropology

dementiaphd

This WordPress.com site is the global hub for dementia students

dtbarron

dtbarron blog

Notes on a Theory...

Thoughts on politics, law, & social science

Caroline Magennis

Research, teaching and basket-weaving

